TL calls for full implementation of MINURSO mandate to enable democratic exercise of self-determination by people of Western Sahara

TL calls for full implementation of MINURSO mandate to enable democratic exercise of self-determination by people of Western Sahara

Image Special

DILI, 21 may 2024 (TATOLI) – The Ambassador of Timor-Leste to the UN, Dionisio Da Costa Babo, called for the full implementation of the United Nations Mission for the Referendum in Western Sahara (MINURSO) mandate to enable a democratic exercise of self-determination by the people of the Western Sahara to choose their own destiny.

Babo made the call at the Regional Seminar of the UN Special Committee on Decolonization (C-24), which took place in Caracas, Venezuela from 14-16 may 2024.

“On the issue of Western Sahara, which is recognized as the final colony in Africa, it is important to expedite its decolonization, particularly by supporting the affirmation of the UN’s framework backing the self-determination of the Sahrawi people,” according to Babo quoted by Shara Press Service.

He emphasized that: “The Special Committee should utilize multilateral efforts, including those of the African Union, to mediate the conflict between the two African Union members, the Sahrawi Republic and Morocco, with the goal of achieving a peaceful and enduring resolution consistent with the AU Constitutive Act and relevant OAU/AU resolutions.”

Babo stressed that: “Given the lack of official visits to Western Sahara by the Committee since 1975, it is important for the Special Committee to arrange a visit to the region to thoroughly assess the current situation. Recent escalations underscore the necessity of bolstering the UN presence in the region, including integrating human rights monitoring within the mandate of MINURSO. Ongoing dialogues and negotiations among relevant parties are crucial to advancing the decolonization process in Western Sahara.”

“We urge all involved parties to support the UN peace process in Western Sahara and protect their fundamental human rights, including the right to control their own natural resources,” he concluded.

There are 17 Non-Self-Governing Territories under the purview of the Special Committee:  American Samoa, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), French Polynesia, Gibraltar, Guam, Montserrat, New Caledonia, Pitcairn, Saint Helena, Tokelau, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States Virgin Islands and Western Sahara.  The administering Powers are France, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.


Journalist: Camilio de Sousa

Editor: Filomeno Martins


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!