G7+ extend solidarity with Afghanistan amid the ongoing crisis

G7+ extend  solidarity with Afghanistan amid the ongoing crisis

DILI, 23 august 2021 (TATOLI)-The Intergovernmental Organization of Conflict-Affected Countries (g7+) expresses its solidarity expressed their solidarity with Afghanistan as the nation battled a crisis with the Taliban taking over the nation.

A press statement accessed by TATOLI today highlighted the organization’s concern regarding the ongoing crisis in Afghanistan saying it considers the situation is an important but difficult moment in the country’s trajectory.

The organization calls on the leaders of the Taliban and other political factions to avoid violence and make people’s safety beyond the priority.

“We encourage the use of this moment to create a space for dialogue and reconciliation, to leave behind a bitter past, to find peace and unity in the name of national interests and definitive stability because the people have suffered many wars and conflicts,” the statement said.

The organization hopes that the wishes of the Afghan people are respected, women’s rights are protected, achievements made in institutional development, health, education, and infrastructure are maintained, and that service delivery is restored and further strengthened.

The G7+ also calls on the United Nations, the international community, and regional actors to engage constructively in political, diplomatic, humanitarian, and development issues, and help maintain peace and stability.

“G7+ affirms its commitment to support all efforts of reconciliation and peace in all ways so that Afghans take advantage of this opportunity and work towards permanent peace in the country and put national interests beyond all,” said.

It should be remembered that g7+, with its European headquarters in Lisbon, Portugal, is an international and intergovernmental organization that seeks to promote mutual assistance from some of the world’s most vulnerable countries.

The G7+, founded in 2010 by seven countries, currently comprises 20 countries from Africa, Asia-Pacific, the Caribbean, and the Middle East – Afghanistan, Burundi, Chad, Comoros, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Yemen, Solomon Islands, Liberia, Papua New Guinea, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Sao Tome, and Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Timor-Leste, and Togo.


Journalist : Camilio de Sousa

Editor: Nelia Borges Rosario


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!