Seventeen political parties qualified to contest upcoming elections

Seventeen political parties qualified to contest upcoming elections

DILI, 27 march 2023 (TATOLI) – The Court of Appeal, on saturday (25/2023) officially announced seventeen political parties were qualified to contest the next parliamentary election to be held on 21 may, 2023.

The list of these political parties was announced in an official document of the Court of Appeal last laturday, making Timor-Leste one of the most democratic countries in the region and the world.

The Court of Appeal did not approve the candidatures of the Frente Mundança (FM) and the Democratic Alliance (DA) Coalition for not fulfilling the legal requirements.

In this case, both political parties failed to choose key leaders in the party leadership.

Previously, three coalitions of political parties, including the Broad Democratic Front (FAD), which brings together four small political parties; the Timorese Democratic Union (UDT), Frente Mundança (FM), the Timorese Centre for Democratic Social Action (CASDT) and the National Development Party (PDN), the Democratic Alliance (DA) formed by three other small parties; National Democratic Alliance (NDA), People’s Development Party (PDP) and Aileba People’s Liberation Party (PLPA), and another coalition formed by the Democratic Party of the Republic of Timor (PDRT), and the People’s Alliance of the Timorese Monarchy (AMPT) also failed to meet the requirements for the presentation of their candidacies.

The last parliamentary elections were held in may 2018, which the EU observer mission called “transparent, well-managed and credible” elections, and were generally peaceful and orderly, despite some violent incidents during the campaign period.

Members of the 65-seat of National Parliament would be elected from these political parties to serve a five-year term.

The 17 political parties are: 

  • National Congress for Timorese Reconstruction (CNRT);
  • Kmanek Haburas Unidade Nasional Timor Oan (KHUNTO);
  • Timorese Socialist Party (PST);
  • Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor (Fretilin);
  • Timorese Social Democratic Action Center Party (CASDTL);
  • Democratic Party (PD);
  • Maubere People’s Liberation Movement Party (MLPM);
  • National Development Party (PDN);
  • Association of Timorese Popular Monarchy (APMT);
  • Republican Party (PR);
  • Timorese Union Democratic (UDT);
  • Christian Democratic Party (PDC);
  • People’s Liberation Party (PLP);
  • National Unity Democratic Party of the Timorese Resistance (UNDERTIM);
  • Party of Unity for Democratic Development (PUDD);
  • Aileba People Liberation Party (PLPA);
  • Green Party (PVT).


Journalist: Filomeno Martins 

Editor: Nelia Borges 


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!