Government imposes the Isolation zone in Ermera, Covalima and Ainaro

Government imposes the Isolation zone in Ermera, Covalima and Ainaro

DILI, 14 april 2021 (TATOLI)— The Government  imposes the Isolation Zone in three municipalities including Ermera, Covalima, and Ainaro on May 2, 2021.

The decision comes after the Council of Minister’s meeting with the Center of Integrated and Management Crisis (CIGC).

However, the Council of Minister approved the Government Resolution for the Continuation of the Sanitary Fence in Municipality of Dili, Baucau, and Viquque until May 2.

According to the President for the Council of Minister, Fidelis Manuel Leite Magalhães, the Government decides to extend the Isolation Zone in Dili, Baucau, and Viqueque until the implementation of the Estate of Emergency for 12th is ended in May.

“The extension for the Isolation Zone depends on the evolution of COVID-19,” Mr. Magalhães said at the Palacio do Governo Dili.

He added that the implementation of the Isolation Zone limits the circulation between the municipalities that mention and other administrative posts.

“Except for public health reasons, security and humanitarian reasons which are considered necessary for the common interest and authorized by the Minister of the Interior.,” he said.

The Government is currently under the 12th State of Emergency which has been extended to May 2, 2021.

The reason the Government imposes the Isolation Zone in the three municipalities is due to the fact the number of active cases in these municipalities is continued to increase including Ermera 34, Covalima 45, while Ainaro registered eight cases.


Journalist: Antónia Gusmão

Editor: Julia Chatarina 


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!