2022 presidential election: Ramos Horta wins in special zone RAEOA

2022 presidential election: Ramos Horta wins in special zone RAEOA

The presidential candidate José Ramos Horta. Tatoli's image//Francisco Sony

DILI, 22 march 2022 (TATOLI) – The presidential candidate José Ramos Horta won in the special administrative zone, Oe-cusse, Ambeno. After the vote-counting is concluded and transported to Dili for submission to the National Election Commission (CNE).

The vote count process for the Presidential Election in 2022 – 2027  has been completed at the municipal level including RAEOA – Oe-cusse where José Ramos-Horta won the most votes in the first round and outperformed the other 15 candidates in the first round.

Presidential election on march 19, 2020, the Data from the Technical Secretariat of the Electoral Administration (STAE) shows that the Former President of the Republic, José Ramos Horta (16) leads in first grade in the total 301,481 votes (46.58%) and the current President of the Republic, Francisco Guterres ‘Lú Olo’ (6) is collected with 143,408 votes (22.16%).

Meanwhile in third place was the current Deputy Prime Minister, Armanda Berta dos Santos (9) with 56,289 votes (8.7%), Former F-FDTL Commander, Lere Anan Timur (8) ranked fourth with the most votes with 48,959 votes (7.57%), Member of the National Parliament, Mariano Sabino (16) and President of the Democratic Party (PD) is collected 47,008 votes (7.26%). The remaining 11 candidates, consisting of Anacleto Fereira (5) with 13,059 votes (2.02%)

Thus, Martinho da Silva Gusmão (13) with 8,485 votes (1.31%); Hermes da Rosa Correia Barros (2) with 7,958 votes (1.23%); Maria Helena de Jesus Lopes Pires (07) with 5,335 votes (0.82%); Isabel Ferreira (1) with 4.165 votes (0.64%). Candidate Felisberto Araújo Duarte with 2,615 votes (0.40%); Constancio Pinto (11) collected 2,474 votes (0.38%); Rogerio Tiago Lobato (7) with 2,028 votes (0.31 %); Virgilio da Silva Guterres (12) with 1,685 votes (0.26%); Antero Benedito da Silva (10) with 1,531 votes (0.24%) and finally Maria Angela Freitas da Silva (3) with 692 votes (0.11%).

The figure for the white group or abbreviated as golput in the 2022 presidential election reached 22.74% of the total 859,613 elections registered at STAE from all municipalities including RAEOA and Diaspora.

The General Election Commission (CEN) has begun to verify the total data. The data will be submitted to the Court of Appeals to be announced.

The Court of Appeals will decide for second-round election if no party is not reached over the 50,1%.

In addition, the President of CNE, José Belo in his interview also confirmed that currently CNE and STAE are waiting for a decision from TR, but that his party is ready to carry out the second round of the presidential election.

“We are ready and by the applicable law, the second round will be carried out one month after the presidential election, meaning that it will be held on april 19, 2022,” he explained.

The Constitution of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste (RDTL) on the Election of the President of the Republic in article 76 paragraphs 3 also states “If no candidate gets more than half of the votes, the second round of elections will be held, on the thirtieth day after the first ballot.

In the next paragraph, paragraph 4 also explains “For the second round of elections, only two candidates with the most votes will compete who do not withdraw from the candidate.

Journalist: José Belarmino De Sá

Editor: Rafy Belo


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!