TL organizes second round of village chief elections

TL organizes second round of village chief elections

Image TATOLI/Antonio Daciparu

DILI, 13 november 2023 (TATOLI) – Timor-Leste organized the second round of local elections in 271 villages. The polls are open from 09h00 to 15h00.

The rules for the second round of the elections are the same as for the first round, based on the Law on Sucos.

In the first round of elections held on the 28th november in 442 villages, 171 village chiefs were elected.

Therefore, the heads of another 271 villages were elected in the second round of the election. These village heads had to compete in the second round, as they did not meet the 50%+1 criterion.

Vice-Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Adérito Hugo da Costa said that in the first round of voting, there were several complaints from voters, due to the use of a manual voting system.

“Even so, the government appreciated the voter turnout. The Ministry of State Administration coordinated with the presidents of the municipal authorities, the administrators of the municipalities, and the councils of the villages to ensure success in the second round elections,” said Hugo.

The geographical locations by municipality of the 271 villages advancing to the second round election are: 24 in Aileu, 16 in Ainaro, 35 in Baucau, 27 in Bobonaro, 24 in Covalima, 18 in Dili, 29 in Ermera, 16 in Lautém and the same number in Liquiçá, 15 in Manatuto, 18 in Manufahi, 22 in Viqueque, nine in RAEOA and two in Ataúro.


Journalist: Camilio de Sousa

Editor: Filomeno Martins


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!