Over 700 Filipino registered voters in TL to contest the election on May 9, 2022

Over 700 Filipino registered voters in TL to contest the election on May 9, 2022

Vice Consul and Third Secretary of the Philippines Embassy to Timor-Leste, Laser Blitz B. Sumagaysay

DILI, 04 May 2022 (TATOLI) – More than 700 Filipino registered voters in Timor-Leste will be eligible to cast their ballots in the 2022 Philippine Presidential and Vice-Presidential elections, said Lazer Blitz Sumagaysay, Consul and Third Secretary of the Philippine Embassy in Timor-Leste on Wednesday (04/05/022).

Lazer Blitz Sumagaysay said the Philippine Presidential Election is scheduled to be held on Monday, May 9, 2022, as part of the 2022 General Election, thus voter registration started last month.

“More than 67 million registered voters are eligible to participate in the election, including 1.7 million overseas voters. Out of 1.7 million voters including 700 voters are in Timor-Leste,”

The consul of the Philippines in TL said these 700 registered voters will contest the election on May 9, 2022, which will take place at the Philippine Embassy in Dili, Timor-Leste.

“The Philippine Embassy in Timor-Leste believes that all Filipino citizens in Timor-Leste will participate in the elections which will be transparently held at the Philippine Embassy under the democratic values ​​that have been implemented in the Philippines,” said Sumagaysay.

The Philippine Election Commission released the official list of candidates on January 25, 2022. The positions of president and vice president are elected separately; the two winning candidates could thus come from different political parties.

Following is the list of candidates for President of the Philippines 2022:

Leodegario Quitain de Guzman (Partidu Lakas ng Massa (PLM)), Panfilo “Ping” Morena Lacson Sr (Independent Candidate),Ferdinand Romualdez Marcos Jr (Partidu Federal ng Philipinas (PFP)), Francisco Moreno Domagoso (My Democratic Aksyon (AD)) ,Emmanuel Dapidran Pacquiao Sr.(Progressive Movement for the Devolution Initiative or the Probinsya Muna Development Initiative (PROMDI)), Maria Leonor “Leni” Gerona Robredo (Independent Candidate).

Candidates for Vice President of the Philippines 2022:

Lito Atienza, Jr. (The Progressive Movement for the Devolution of Initiatives or Probinsya Muna Development Initiative (PROMDI)), Walden Bello (PLM), Sara Duterte-Carpio (Lakas–Christian Muslim Democratics (Lakas-CMD)), Willie Ong ( Aksyon Demokratiku (AD) ), Francis Pangilinan (Liberal Party (LP)), Vicente Sotto Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC).

Journalist: Camilio de Sousa

Editor: Nelia Borges


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!